Home » News & Articles » 2023 » 2023 Rylands Art Prizes Awarded

2023 Rylands Art Prizes Awarded

Undergraduate Teddy Graham has been awarded first prize, with Euan Russell, John Palmer and Eden Hogston selected as runners-up.
'Skin' by Teddy Graham

Undergraduate Teddy Graham has been awarded first place in the Rylands Art Prize for their work Skin, a mixed media project that Teddy describes as "a mixture of painting, embroidery, hospital bands, baby clothes, love letters and goodbye notes, crammed onto an old denim jacket I used to wear every day". Three artists were awarded as joint runners-up: Euan Russell for his video piece exploring ‘architectures for the in-between’, John Palmer for his painting Instar and Eden Hogston for the mixed media composition Distorted by the Media.

Although it did not win a prize, the judges also highlighted Nascent, a seven-minute film produced and directed by PhD candidate Lindsay Branham. In Lindsay’s film two children - one Christian and one Muslim - seek answers in each other, as a bloody civil war in Central African Republic divides a once peaceful nation along religious lines. This year’s entries will be on display in the Art Rooms until 18 February.

First prize winner Teddy explains how Skin became more a diary than an art project:

In the process of leaving my family home, I became my childhood self again; tethered to an old name, an old routine, old clothes. It's put together from work I made at my parent's house, when I was a child, in hospital, and in the weeks once I managed to get to Cambridge; hiding away in the Art Rooms like some spectre from the other side.

Skin is the story I couldn't say out loud, put onto the body in a way less reviled than scars. It's the excuses I make for myself; I am a fish who forgot how to migrate. I am an ill-behaved child. I am possessed by something uncategorised. I can be donned and shed as fast as fashion. And so on. 

Skin is a mixture of painting, embroidery, hospital bands, baby clothes, love letters and goodbye notes, crammed onto an old denim jacket I used to wear every day. I tell my story on the patches, abstracted into images and rearrangeable. But only if you're willing to get a little too close, to pull parts of me off and examine them without boundaries. To tell my story, I have to give you some of me. To hear it, you put your hands on me and risk breaking something. To share it, I have to take it off my body and let it become a story which slips from my grasp and begins to belong to you. 

Being able to escape to the Art Rooms is invaluable - be it from an essay or a messy room - and escaping to rather than escaping from is a reminder, a way to connect, and a chance to build skills all at once. 

The 18 submissions to this year’s Rylands Art Prize reflected the breadth, depth and talent in the King’s community: from textiles and jewellery to photography, video and paintings; from personal journeys to philosophical questions to political or humanitarian issues. The judges of this year’s competition were Provost Michael Proctor and his wife Julia, as well as King’s Art Coordinator Nigel Meager. The Art Prize is an annual College competition in memory of Dr G.H.W Rylands (known as Dadie Rylands), a former Fellow of the College, where King’s students and staff can enter works of visual art in any medium.

Similar Entries


2020 Rylands Art Prizes Awarded

The first prize for this year's award has been jointly awarded to graduate student Shirley Lo and undergraduate Danny Martin.

2024 Rylands Art Prizes awarded

Teddy Graham has been awarded first prize for his work 'Surrogate', with second prize going to Em Dirs and a joint third for Eden Hogston and John Palmer.


2022 Rylands Art Prizes Awarded

Final year undergraduate Josh Mazas received the first prize, with Kelly Wang and Catering Events Manager Guido Felici as runners-up. 


King's alumni awarded Leverhulme Prizes

Alumni Dr Tom Geue and Professor Kathryn Stevens have both been awarded Philip Leverhulme Prizes in Classics.


King’s Fellows awarded teaching prizes

We congratulate two of our current Fellows, Dr Jude Browne and Dr Ingo Gildenhard, who have both won Pilkington Prizes this year for their substantial contributions to teaching.


King's Fellows awarded Pilkington Prize for teaching

Fraz Mir and Thomas Roulet have been awarded two of the 2023 Pilkington Prizes for excellence in teaching.


Organ Scholar wins FRCO prizes

Organ Scholar Paul Greally has swept the board at the Fellowship of the Royal College of Organists exams.


Professor Michael Cook awarded the Balzan Prize

Honorary Fellow Michael Cook (KC 1959) has been awarded the prestigious prize for his contribution to Islamic Studies.

Follow us on Instagram

View more