King's Fellows awarded Pilkington Prize for teaching

King's Bye-Fellow Thomas Roulet

Fraz Mir and Thomas Roulet have been awarded two of the thirteen 2023 Pilkington Prizes for excellence in teaching. The Prizes are awarded annually by the Vice-Chancellor to members of staff in recognition of their contributions to the teaching programme of a Department, Faculty or the University as a whole. The awards were endowed and inaugurated in 1994 by Sir Alastair Pilkington ho believed that the quality of teaching was crucial to the University’s success.

You can see all previous Pilkington Prize winners here. Among them are nine other current Fellows of King's: Rosanna Omitowoju (awarded the Prize in 2002), Tim Flack (2004), Geoff Moggridge (2004), Nick Bullock (2006), Rob Wallach (2010), Matei Candea (2016), Jude Browne (2017), Ingo Gildenhard (2017), and Cesare Hall (2019).

Similar Entries


We congratulate two of our current Fellows, Dr Jude Browne and Dr Ingo Gildenhard, who have both won Pilkington Prizes this year for their substantial contributions to teaching.


Honorary Fellow Michael Cook (KC 1959) has been awarded the prestigious prize for his contribution to Islamic Studies.


Darin Weinberg's book Contemporary Social Constructionism (2014, Temple) has been awarded the 2018 Melvin Pollner Prize in Ethnomethodology by the American Sociological Association's section on Ethnomethodology and Conversation Analysis.


Political theorist Dr Danielle Allen (KC 1993) has won this year’s John W. Kluge Prize for Achievement in the Study of Humanity.


This year's winners are graduate student Michaela Kadlecová and undergraduates Alex Provost, Barry Khan and Joel Mahabir.

50th Reunion Photos

The annual prize has been awarded to four students who have made a significant contribution to the College community during their time at King's.