Alumni recognised in the New Year Honours

Photograph of Errollyn Wallen CBE featured in the University's 'Black Cantabs' exhibition. Image: Sir Cam.

Five King's alumni have been recognised in the 2020 New Year Honours List. Our warm congratulations to the following:

Professor of Sociology at the University of Exeter, Jane Elliott (KC 1984) has been awarded a CBE for services to the social sciences.

Composer Errollyn Wallen (KC 1999) has been awarded a CBE for services to Music.

Paul Cann (KC 1972), formerly Chief Executive of Age UK Oxfordshire, has been awarded an OBE for services to combatting loneliness in older people.

Professor of Social Policy and Sociology at the London School of Economics, Lucinda Platt (KC 1987) has been awarded an OBE for services to the social sciences.

Rachel Coldicutt (KC 1992), formerly Chief Executive of Doteveryone, has been awarded an OBE for services to the digital society.

Similar Entries

Among those recognised in this year's Honours are Amanda Amos, Bryan Appleyard, Paul Evans, Mark Padmore and Jean Wilson.

Among those recognised are King's alumni Charles Saumarez Smith, Thomas Adès, Alison Davenport, Susanna Eastburn and Geoffrey Harcourt.

Honorary Fellow Michael Cook (KC 1959) has been awarded the prestigious prize for his contribution to Islamic Studies.

We congratulate two of our current Fellows, Dr Jude Browne and Dr Ingo Gildenhard, who have both won Pilkington Prizes this year for their substantial contributions to teaching.

Darin Weinberg's book Contemporary Social Constructionism (2014, Temple) has been awarded the 2018 Melvin Pollner Prize in Ethnomethodology by the American Sociological Association's section on Ethnomethodology and Conversation Analysis.

The £500,000 award enables Sebastian Eves-van den Akker to conduct important research into the threat that nematodes pose to potato crops.