Chapel closures and amended opening hours

North Gate of the Chapel

The Chapel is occasionally closed to the public because of recordings, concerts and private ceremonies. Please check the dates with amended opening times below or contact the Visitors Office before you visit (tourism@kings.cam.ac.uk; 01223 331212). 

During the Easter Term (April - June), which is the examination period in Cambridge, the grounds are closed to the public but the Chapel remains open.

If the date you are checking is not listed below this means that normal Chapel opening times apply.

November 2017

  • Saturday 4 November - entry 9.30 am until 2.45 pm (last ticket 2.15 pm)
  • Sunday 12 November - entry 12.30 pm until 3.30 pm (last ticket 3 pm)
  • Friday 17 November - entry 9.30 am until 1.30 pm (last ticket 1 pm)
  • Saturday 18 November - entry 9.30 am until 1 pm (last ticket 12.30 pm)
  • Saturday 25 November - entry 12 noon until 3.45 pm (last ticket 3.15 pm)
  • Sunday 26 November - CLOSED ALL DAY

December 2017

  • Saturday 2 December - entry 9.30 am until 3.45 pm (last ticket 3.15 pm) - restricted access from 12 noon
  • Sunday 3 December - entry 9.30 am until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm)
  • Monday 4 December - entry 9.30 am until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm)
  • Tuesday 5 December until Sunday 10 December - CLOSED ALL DAYS
  • Monday 11 December 11 am until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm)
  • Saturday 23 December - entry 9.30 am until 3 pm ( last ticket 2.30 pm)
  • Sunday 24 December until Monday 1 January - CLOSED ALL DAYS

January 2018

  • Thursday 4 January - entry 10.30 am until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm)
  • Tuesday 9 January until Wednesday 17 January - possible restrictions
  • Saturday 27 January - entry 9.30 am until 3.45 pm (last ticket 3.15 pm) - restricted access from 12 noon

February 2018

  • Wednesday 14 February - entry 11.30 am until 2.30 pm for prayer and services only
  • Wednesday 21 February - 9.30 am until 1 pm (last ticket 12.30 pm)

See also the normal opening times.

Admission and opening times | Visit King's | Back to the top