Chapel closures and amended opening hours

North Gate of the Chapel

The Chapel is occasionally closed to the public because of recordings, concerts and private ceremonies. Please check the dates with amended opening times below or contact the Visitors Office before you visit (tourism@kings.cam.ac.uk; 01223 331212). 

During the Easter Term (April - June), which is the examination period in Cambridge, the grounds are closed to the public but the Chapel remains open.

If the date you are checking is not listed below this means that normal Chapel opening times apply.

April 2017

  • Monday 24 April - entry 9.30 am until 3.30 pm (last ticket 3 pm)
  • Tuesday 25 April - entry 9.30 am until 1 pm (last ticket 12.30 pm)

June 2017

  • Saturday 17 June - entry 9.30 am until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm) - restricted access to Ante-chapel from 11.30 am onwards
  • Monday 19 June - entry 9.30 am until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm) - restricted access
  • Tuesday 20 June - entry 9.30 am until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm) - restricted access
  • Wednesday 21 June - entry 9.30 am until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm) - restricted access to Ante-chapel from 12.30 pm onwards
  • Thursday 22 June – entry 9.30 am until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm) - restricted access
  • Friday 23 June - entry 9.30 am until 3.45 pm (last ticket 3.15 pm) - restricted access
  • Saturday 24 June - entry 9.30 am until 3.45 pm (last ticket 3.15 pm)
  • Sunday 25 June - entry 9.30 am until 4.30 pm (last ticket 5 pm) - restricted access
  • Monday 26 June – CLOSED ALL DAY
  • Tuesday 27 June – CLOSED ALL DAY
  • Wednesday 28 June – entry 10 am until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm) - restricted access

July 2017

  • Monday 3 July - entry 9.30 am until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm) - restricted access
  • Thursday 6 July – entry 9.30 am until 2 pm (last ticket 1.30 pm)
  • Friday 7 July – entry 1 pm until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm)
  • Saturday 8 July - entry 9.30 am until 3.45 pm (last ticket 3.15 pm) - restricted access
  • Thursday 13 July - entry 9.30 am until 5 pm (last ticket 4.30 pm) - restricted access
  • Saturday 15 July – entry 11.30 am until 4 pm (entry 3.30 pm)
  • Monday 17 to Friday 21 July - Please note that due to work in the Chapel it may not be possible to see the Rubens 'Adoration of the Magi'
  • Friday 28 July - entry 1 pm until 3.45 pm (last ticket 3.15 pm)

See also the normal opening times.

Admission and opening times | Visit King's | Back to the top