Chapel closures and amended opening hours

North Gate of the Chapel

The Chapel is occasionally closed to the public because of recordings, concerts and private ceremonies. Please check the dates with amended opening times below or contact the Visitors Office before you visit (tourism@kings.cam.ac.uk; 01223 331212). 

During the Easter Term (April - June), which is the examination period in Cambridge, the grounds are closed to the public but the Chapel remains open.

If the date you are checking is not listed below this means that normal Chapel opening times apply.

September 2016

  • Saturday 17 September - entry 9.30 am until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm)
  • Monday 19 September until Wednesday 21 September - restricted access in the Chapel
  • Friday 23 September - entry 9.30 am until 3.30 pm (last ticket 3 pm)
  • Saturday 24 September - entry 9.30 am until 3.45 pm (last ticket 3.15 pm)
  • Sunday 25 September - entry 1 pm until 5 pm (last ticket 4.30 pm)
  • Monday 26 September until Wednesday 28 September - please note there may be minor disruption to visitors during the afternoon
  • Friday 30 September - entry 9.30 am until 3 pm (last ticket 2.30 pm)

October 2016

  • Saturday 1 October - entry 12 noon until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm)
  • Sunday 2 October - entry 1.15 pm until 3 pm (last ticket 2.30 pm)

November 2016

  • Wednesday 9 November - entry 9.30 am until 1 pm (last ticket 12.30 pm)
  • Sunday 13 November - entry 12.30 pm until 3 pm (last ticket 2.30 pm)
  • Saturday 26 November - entry 12 noon until 3.30 pm (last ticket 3 pm)
  • Sunday 27 November - CLOSED
  • Wednesday 30 November - restricted access 9.30 am until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm)

December 2016

  • Thursday 1 December - restricted access 9.30 am until 4 pm (last ticket 3.30 pm)
  • From Tuesday 6 until Monday 12 December - CLOSED ALL DAYS
  • From Friday 23 December 2016 until Monday 2 January 2017 - CLOSED ALL DAYS

See also the normal opening times.

Admission and opening times | Visit King's | Back to the top