Choir's new CD is first to use Dolby Atmos

Cover of 1615: Gabrieli in Venice

King's College Choir has released a new album of music by 16th century Italian composer Giovanni Gabrieli. 1615: Gabrieli in Venice is the latest release on the College's own label and is the first classical album ever in the new Dolby Atmos surround sound format. This technology allows overhead sound to be included in the recording, reproducing the acoustics of the Chapel with unprecedented realism.

This recording pays homage to one of the most influential musicians of the Venetian Renaissance from within one of the great buildings of the English Renaissance.

As well as being principal organist at St Mark’s Basilica, Gabrieli was a prolific composer of sacred vocal and instrumental music. The early brass ensembles for which Gabrieli composed are no longer to be found performing in St Mark’s Basilica, but this tradition is alive and well in Cambridge. The Choir is joined by His Majestys Sagbutts & Cornetts playing faithful recreations of instruments from Gabrieli’s time.

This recording is released in a two-disc package containing both CD/SACD hybrid and Pure Audio Blu-ray formats. You can buy the album from our online shop.

Track list:

  1. In ecclesiis (a 14), C78
  2. Canzona Seconda (a 6), C196
  3. Suscipe, clementissime Deus (a 12), C70
  4. Hodie completi sunt dies Pentecostes (a 8), C57
  5. Jubilate Deo omnis terra (a 10), C65
  6. Canzona Terza (a 6), C197
  7. Quem vidistis pastores? (a 14), C77
  8. Sonata XXI, ‘con tre violini’ (a 4), C214
  9. Exultavit cor meum in Domino (a 6), C53
  10. Surrexit Christus (a 11), C66
  11. Canzona Prima (a 5), C195
  12. Litaniae Beatae Mariae Virginis (a 8), C63
  13. Magnificat (a 14), C79
2 November 2015