Nicholas Daniel plays Mozart and Britten

Nicholas Daniel

Nicholas Daniel

One of the UK's finest and most popular oboists, Nicholas Daniel, is playing works by Mozart and Britten on 29 January.

Nicholas won the BBC’s Young Musician of the Year Competition in 1980 and since then has enjoyed a distinguished international career as soloist, chamber musician and conductor.

He is the Artistic Director of the Leicester International Music Festival & Lunchtime Concert Series, and is also a founder member of the celebrated Haffner Wind Ensemble, who he will be playing with on the night. The Master of the Queen’s Music, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, will also be present and will say a few words.

The concert is entitled ‘Gran Partita’, a reference to Mozart’s beautiful Serenade No 10 in B flat for winds. Britten's Metamorphoses after Ovid will be the other work played, which will include readings by Professor Simon Goldhill, Fellow in Classics at King's


  • Mozart: Serenade no 10 for winds
  • Britten: Metamorphoses after Ovid

Nicholas Daniel, oboe
Simon Goldhill, reader
Haffner Wind Ensemble

The concert will take place in the Hall at 8.30pm. Tickets: £16 (restricted view £10, students under 25 free, on the door only), available from the Shop at King’s, King's Parade, Cambridge (tel: 01223 769 340; email:

For more details see Concerts at King's.

17 January 2012