King's Fellow wins Gruber Cosmology Prize

George Efstathiou

King's Fellow and cosmologist Professor George Efstathiou is a joint winner of the prestigious Gruber Cosmology Prize. Prof Efstathiou is part of an international group of researchers who have won the award for their ground-breaking mathematical models of the universe.

The group of researchers include:

  • Marc Davis (University of California, Berkeley)
  • George Efstathiou (Kavli Institute for Cosmology, Cambridge
  • Carlos Frenk (Institute for Computational Cosmology, Durham University)
  • Simon White (Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics, Germany)

They are sometimes referred to as 'DEFW' (from their surnames) or the 'Gang of Four', and they published a series of landmark papers together from 1984 to 1988. These papers laid the foundations of a new approach to cosmology, where theories of how matter is distributed in the universe could be tested against actual observations by using numerical models. Read the full Gruber Foundation announcement.

The cosmologists will share a prize of $500,000, and will be presented with gold medals at an award ceremony in the autumn.

1 June 2011