Aronowitz Ensemble plays romantic music this weekend

Aronowitz Ensemble

In keeping with the mood of the Royal Wedding, the Aronowitz Ensemble is playing three pieces from the Romantic period at King's this Sunday, 1 May:

  • Notturno in E flat major for piano trio, D 897 - Schubert
  • Piano Quintet no 2 in C sharp minor, op 54 - Goldmark
  • String Sextet no 2 in G major, op 36 - Brahms

The concert opens with the sublime beauty of Schubert's 'Notturno'. Schubert probably wrote the piece the year before his death and it is likely he intended it to be part of a larger piano trio. The unusual textures and rhythm of the piece are said to be inspired by a folk tune he heard in the Austrian countryside.

The Schubert piece is followed by Carl Goldmark's Piano Quintet no 2. Goldmark was an acclaimed composer in his time but his reputation suffered after the First World War. Now his works are rarely heard and the Aronowitz Ensemble gives us the chance to hear one of his more haunting pieces.

The concert finishes with String Sextet no 2 in G major by Brahms. Brahms' warm second sextet explores his love affair with the soprano Agathe von Siebold and her name inspires the motif and rhythms of the piece. The sequence of notes A-GA- D/H-E form the second theme of the first movement.

The concert takes place in the Hall at King's at 8.30pm. Tickets: £16, available from the Shop at King's, King's Parade, Cambridge (01223 769 340). There will be 50 free tickets on the door for 8-25 year olds, supported by the Cavatina Chamber Music Trust.

The Aronowitz Ensemble is formed of seven outstanding young international artists with a passion for exploring and performing chamber music together in the highly adaptable combination of string sextet and piano. The ensemble includes former King's choristers Guy and Magnus Johnston (cello and violin respectively) and well-loved Cambridge local Tom Poster (piano).

28 April 2011