KING'S COLLEGE, CAMBRIDGE

At the Congregation held on Monday, 31st January 2022 at 6:00 pm in Keynes Hall and via Zoom

Present

(Starred names attended in person in Keynes Hall)

Dr Zoe Adams Dr Ronojoy Adhikari * Dr Tess Adkins Dr Mark Ainslie Professor Anna Alexandrova Professor John Arnold *Dr Nicholas Atkins **Professor Mike Bate** Dr Giulia Boitani **Professor Richard Bourke** Dr Mirjana Bozic Dr Angela Breitenbach **Professor Judith Browne** Professor Nicholas Bullock *Dr Katherine Campbell Professor Matei Candea *Dr Keith Carne Mr Nicholas Cavalla **Rev Dr Stephen Cherry** Dr Maurice Chiodo *Dr Alexandra Clarà Saracho Professor Francesco Colucci Dr Sarah Crisp **Professor Anne Davis** Professor Peter de Bolla *Dr James Dolan Professor John Dunn Professor George Efstathiou **Professor Bradley Epps** Professor Naci Erdil Dr Sebastian Eves-V D Akker **Professor Khaled Fahmy** Dr Elisa Faraglia **Professor James Fawcett** *Dr Timothy Flack

Professor Anthony Giddens Professor Christopher Gilligan Professor Simon Goldhill Dr David Good Dr Caroline Goodson **Professor Timothy Griffin Professor Gillian Griffiths Professor Mark Gross** Professor Henning Grosse R-K **Professor Cesare Hall** *Professor Ross Harrison *Dr Katie Haworth Ms Lorraine Headen Professor John Henderson Dr Felipe Hernandez *Dr Katherine Herrity Dr Ryan Heuser Dr Myfanwy Hill Dr Stephen Hugh-Jones Professor Caroline Humphrey **Professor Herbert Huppert** Mr Said Huseini **Dr** Alice Hutchings Professor Martin Hyland *Mr Philip Isaac *Dr Malarvizhi Javanth Professor Mark Johnson *Mr Peter Jones Dr Jerelle Joseph *Professor Eric Keverne Dr Patrycja Kozik Professor Richard Lambert Professor Alan Macfarlane Dr Cicely Marshall *Professor Jean Massing

Dr Naomi McGovern Professor Dan McKenzie Dr Scott Melville *Dr Jonah Miller Dr Fraz Mir Dr Perveez Mody **Professor Geoffrey Moggridge** Dr Kamiar Mohaddes Dr Ken Moody Dr Basim Musallam Dr Rory O'Bryen Dr Julienne Obadia Dr Rosanna Omitowoju *Professor Robin Osborne Dr Tejas Parasher Professor John Perry Dr Adriana Pesci *Professor Michael Proctor Dr Benjamin Ravenhill Professor Robert Rowthorn Professor Hamid Sabourian Dr Mira Seigelberg Professor Gareth Stedman Jones *Dr James Taylor Mr James Trevithick Professor Caroline Van Eck Dr Rob Wallach Professor Godela Weiss-Sussex *Dr Thomas White Dr Edward Zychowicz-Coghill

Open Business only

*Mr Sergio Russo	*Ms Michaela Kadlecova	*Mr TomPugh
*Ms Maddie Kelly		-

Apologies

Dr Michael Sonenscher	Dr James Vicary	Professor John Young
Professor Robert Foley	Dr Philip Knox	Professor Sarah Lummis
Professor Paul Ryan	Dr Sharath Srinivasan	Professor Christopher Prendergast
Professor Darin Weinberg	Professor Ingo Gildenhard	Dr Sebastian Ahnert
Mr Daniel Hyde	Professor Yung Loke	Dr Surabhi Ranganathan
Mr Daniel Hyde Dr Laura Davies	0	Dr Surabhi Ranganathan

On Leave

Professor Jason Sharman Professor Bert Vaux Professor Nicholas Marston Professor Nicolette Zeeman Professor Gareth Austin

Professor Matthew Gandy Dr Felipe Hernandez Dr David Hillman

Professor James Laidlaw Professor Cam Middleton Professor Chryssi Giannitsarou

OPEN BUSINESS

Declarations of Interest 1.

None.

Minutes of Open Business of the Annual Congregation held on 2. 2nd December, 2021

Approved.

Matters arising from the Minutes 3.

None.

Oral Reports 4.

Covid-19 Update

Cambridge is now one of the places in the country with the highest infection rate. The rate within the University remains lower but has risen markedly in the past two weeks both within the College and at We are continuing to encourage everyone to be other Colleges. careful. The asymptomatic testing will move to Lateral Flow Tests from this week. PCR tests for those with symptoms will remain.

Rising infection rates amongst staff have added to pressures, especially for Housekeeping and Catering. We are also coming under pressure as other Colleges try to recruit staff to fill their own needs.

Principal Business

5. Revision of Statutes – E & F

The Provost presented revisions to Statutes E & F as part of the overall revision of the College Statutes.

There was concern that the Statutes forbade holding a Fellowship while also a Fellow at an Oxford College but had no corresponding restriction on holding an academic post at other universities.

It was also agreed that any additional restrictions on the appointment as a Life Fellow under Statute E.27 should be in Ordinance. The Statutes and Ordinances were amended accordingly. Ordinance E.2.4 was corrected to list Official Fellows.

It was agreed that the emoluments and privileges for a Chaplain will be agreed by the Council on appointment, subject to the approval of the Fellows' Remuneration Committee. The title of Dean of Chapel will be used consistently to distinguish this post from the Lay Dean.

Congregation agreed, by a two-thirds majority:

- (i) to approve the proposed changes, as amended, to Statute E subject to a confirmatory vote at a special Congregation;
- (ii) to approve the proposed changes to Statute F subject to a confirmatory vote at a special Congregation;
- (iii) to approve for the first time the proposed amendments to Ordinance E;
- (iv) to approve for the first time the proposed amendments to Ordinance F.

* The approved Statutes and Ordinances are attached at the end of the open Minutes.

6. Buildings' Gateway Review 2022

This paper seeks Governing Body approval for projects to progress to the next stage. Council and the Buildings & Safety Committee have considered and endorsed these recommendations.

Congregation agreed:

a. to approve the revision and plans of alternative options to the Chetwynd Court development (cost £25k, donor funded);

- b. to approve the Munby Room improvements and Gatehouse roof repairs or replacement projects entering the portfolio;
- c. to approve the Spalding Hostel internal refurbishment project moving to the Planning Stage (£335k to completion of RIBA4, total project cost £8.843m).

Routine papers (for report only)

None.

7. Any Other Business

None.