KING'S COLLEGE, CAMBRIDGE

At an Ordinary Congregation held on Friday, 19th July, 2019 at 2 pm in the Senior Combination Room

Present

Professor Michael Proctor **Professor Matthew Gandy** Dr Cicely Marshall Dr Zoe Adams **Professor Jules Griffin Professor Nicholas Marston** Dr Tess Adkins Dr Henning Grosse Ruse-Khan Professor Dan McKenzie Dr David Al-Attar Dr Cesare Hall Professor Geoff Moggridge Dr Nick Atkins Ms Lorraine Headen Dr Basim Musallam Professor John Henderson **Professor Mike Bate** Dr Julienne Obadia Dr Angela Breitenbach Dr David Hillman Dr Rory O'Bryen Dr Keith Carne **Professor Carrie Humphrey** Dr John Perry Mr Richard Causton **Professor Martin Hyland** Dr Paul Rvan Professor Mark Johnson Professor Jason Sharman Revd Dr Stephen Cherry Dr Francesco Colucci Professor Gareth Stedman Jones Mr Peter Jones Dr Aileen Kellv Mr James Trevithick Professor John Dunn

Professor John Dunn

Dr Aileen Kelly

Professor Barry Keverne

Dr Darin Weinberg

Dr Tim Flack

Professor Alan Macfarlane

Dr Marwa Mahmoud

Dr Marwa Mahmoud

Apologies

Dr Dejan Gajic

Dr Mark Ainslie Professor Iain Fenlon **Professor Richard Lambert** Dr Freddy Foks Dr Sebastian Ahnert Professor Charlie Loke Professor Jean Michel Massing Dr Anna Alexandrova Dr Ingo Gildenhard Professor John Arnold Professor Cam Middleton Professor Chris Gilligan **Professor Gareth Austin** Dr Ken Moody Dr Caroline Goodson Professor William Baker **Professor Gillian Griffiths** Professor Robin Osborne Dr Tim Griffin Dr Adriana Pesci Dr John Barber Dr Marek Rei Professor Ben Gripaios Dr Alice Blackhurst Professor Hamid Sabourian Professor Richard Bourke **Professor Mark Gross** Dr Aline Guillermet Dr Mark Smith Sir Stephen Cleobury **Professor Ross Harrison** Dr Sarah Crisp Dr Mike Sonenscher Dr Felipe Hernandez Dr James Taylor **Professor Anne Davis** Professor Peter de Bolla Professor Herbert Huppert Dr Bert Vaux Dr Aytek Erdil Mr Philip Isaac Dr Rob Wallach Dr Tom White Dr Sebastian Eves van Den Akker Dr Joanna Kusiak

On leave

Professor Khaled Fahmy

Dr Mirjana Bozic Dr Laura Davies Professor Simon Goldhill
Dr Nathanael Berestycki Professor Rob Foley
Dr Jude Browne Professor Rob Foley

Professor James Laidlaw

Professor Nicolette Zeeman

OPEN BUSINESS

Declarations of Interest

None.

54. Minutes of Open Business of the Ordinary Congregation held on 24th June, 2019

Approved.

55. Matters arising from the Minutes

None.

56. Oral Reports

Review of the Visiting Fellowship Policy

The Vice-Provost reported that the new procedure for electing Visiting Fellows had worked well. Congregation agreed to confirm the procedure.

Principal Business

57. Reducing Carbon Usage

The First Bursar presented a summary of the actions the College has taken to reduce our carbon footprint. While this had been effective, we will need to make further changes that will require careful study and significant investment.

58. Wild Flower Meadow on the Back Lawn

Professor Moggridge presented a proposal by the Gardens Committee to plant part of the back lawn as a wildflower meadow. This would be introduced this autumn and continue as a five year experiment. The lawn covers part of the mediaeval city and is therefore of archaeological interest. A survey of the entire College has been commissioned, using ground penetrating radar. That may lead to further investigative work.

Congregation approved the creation of a wildflower meadow on the northern part of the back lawn. Construction of the meadow will commence in November 2019.

Other Business

59. Any Other Business

None.

The Congregation ended at 2:50pm.