KING'S COLLEGE, CAMBRIDGE

At an Ordinary Congregation held on Monday, 28th January 2019 at 6 pm in the Senior Combination Room

Present

Professor Michael Proctor
Dr Zoe Adams
Dr Dejan Gajic
Dr Tess Adkins
Professor Matthew Gandy
Dr Mark Ainslie
Professor John Arnold
Dr Caroline Goodson

Professor Gareth Austin

Dr Tim Griffin

Dr John Barber

Professor Ben Gripaios

Professor Mike Bate

Professor Mark Gross

Dr Andreas Bender Dr Henning Grosse Ruse-Khan
Dr Alice Blackhurst Ms Lorraine Headen
Dr Keith Carne Dr Felipe Hernandez
Dr Goylette Chami Professor Martin Hyland

Dr Francesco Colucci Mr Philip Isaac
Professor Anne Davis Professor Mark Johnson

Professor John Dunn Mr Peter Jones

Professor George Efstathiou Professor Barry Keverne
Dr Sebastian Eves-van De Akker Dr Joanna Kusiak

Professor Khaled Fahmy Professor Richard Lambert
Dr John Filling Professor Alan Macfarlane
Dr Tim Flack Dr Marwa Mahmoud

Dr Cicely Marshall

Professor Nicholas Marston Professor Jean Michel Massing

Dr Naomi McGovern Professor Cam Middleton

Dr Perveez Mody Dr Ken Moody

Professor Clement Mouhot

Dr Julienne Obadia Dr John Perry Dr Adriana Pesci Mr James Trevithick Professor Caroline van Eck Dr Godela Weiss-Sussex

Dr Tom White

Junior Members: Ms Claudia Joynt

Ms Sophia Georgescu

Apologies

Dr Sebastian Ahnert Professor Jules Griffin
Dr David Al-Attar Professor Gillian Griffiths
Dr Anna Alexandrova Dr Aline Guillermet
Professor William Baker Dr Cesare Hall
Professor Richard Bourke Dr David Hillman

Dr Mirjana Bozic Professor Caroline Humphrey
Dr Angela Breitenbach Professor Herbert Huppert

Mr Richard Causton Dr Aileen Kelly

Mr Nick Cavalla Professor James Laidlaw
Revd Dr Stephen Cherry Professor Charlie Loke
Mr Stephen Cleobury Professor Sarah Lummis
Dr Megan Donaldson Professor Geoff Moggridge

Dr Aytek Erdil Dr Basim Musallam Professor Iain Fenlon Dr Rory O'Bryen

Dr Ingo Gildenhard Professor Robin Osborne Dr David Good Professor Chris Prendergast Dr Marek Rei Dr Paul Ryan

Professor Jason Sharman

Dr Mark Smith
Dr Mike Sonenscher
Dr James Taylor
Dr Bert Vaux
Dr Rob Wallach
Dr Darin Weinberg
Professor John Young

Junior Member:

Ms Catherine Bevilacqua

Ms Emelyn Rude

On leave

Professor Nathanael Berestycki Dr Jude Browne Professor Bradley Epps Professor Robert Foley Professor Simon Goldhill Dr Surabhi Ranganathan Dr Sharath Srinivasan Professor Nicolette Zeeman

OPEN BUSINESS

Declarations of Interest

None.

1. Minutes of Open Business of the Annual Congregation held on 29th November, 2018

Approved.

2. Matters arising from the Minutes

None

3. Oral Reports

None.

Principal Business

4. Flying the EU Flag

The Provost explained that Congregation now had an opportunity to reflect on whether to fly the EU flag. This had been proposed, without notice, at the last congregation and approved. On reflection, the Provost had appreciated the concerns of some Fellows and changed his own opinion.

There was an appreciation that some Fellows, and other members of the College, would be concerned about an action that appeared political. On the other hand, there was also a desire to express support for EU colleagues and solidarity with those who currently find themselves in an uncertain and anxious situation.

Congregation agreed that the College should fly the EU flag on 29th or 30th January, 2019. The Provost agreed to inform members when the flag would be raised, and to provide and circulate a statement for the College website.

Other Business

5. USS Consultation

The First Bursar reported on the consultations being held by USS. The Fellowship agreed that it would hold an informal meeting once further information was obtained from the USS Trustee and the Pensions Regulator. It was noted that the time allowed for a response might be very short.

6. Buildings Gateway Review

The Domus Bursar reported that Barnes Construction had been appointed as the main contractor for the works on Old Garden Hostel. It is hoped to proceed with this work from July 2019 provided that progress on Cranmer Hostel means we will have sufficient accommodation in 2019-20.

Congregation agreed:

- a. To approve the Hall roof replacement and Old Garden Hostel moving to the planning stage at further costs of £44,000 and £750,000 respectively.
- b. To approve the external conservation of the Gibbs Building project moving to review stage.
- c. To approve the refurbishment of the Gatehouse project exiting the portfolio.

7. Any Other Business

None.

The Congregation ended at 7pm.