KING'S COLLEGE, CAMBRIDGE

At the Ordinary Congregation held on Thursday 16th March 2023 at 2:00pm in Keynes Hall and via Zoom.

Present (starred names attended on Zoom)

Professor Ingo Gildenhard Dr Zoe Adams * Professor Mark Gross * Dr Tess Adkins Dr David Al-Attar

Professor Gareth Austin

Professor Mike Bate Dr Francesco Bianchini Mr Api Hasthanasombat Dr Giulia Boitani Dr Katie Haworth

Professor Judith Browne Ms Lorraine Headen Professor Matei Candea Dr Keith Carne

Dr Myfanwy Hill Rev Dr Stephen Cherry Dr Ivan Collister

Dr Laura Davies

Mr Reza Huseini **Professor Anne Davis** Professor Peter de Bolla **Dr Alice Hutchings** Professor Nicholas Bullock Professor Martin Hyland

Dr James Dolan Professor John Dunn

Dr Sebastian Eves-van den Akker *

Dr Elisa Faraglia

Professor James Fawcett Professor Iain Fenlon *

Professor Chryssi Giannitsarou

Professor Henning Grosse Ruse-

Khan

Professor Cesare Hall Professor Ross Harrison

Dr Katherine Herrity *

Dr David Hillman

Professor Caroline Humphrey

Mr Philip Isaac

Dr Malarvizhi Jayanth

Mr Peter Jones Dr Philip Knox * Dr Patrycja Kozik Dr Zhuangnan Li *

Professor Alan Macfarlane

Professor Nicholas Marston

Dr Scott Melville Dr Fraz Mir * Dr Perveez Mody

Professor Geoffrey Moggridge

Dr Kamiar Mohaddes

Dr Gabriela Montejo-Kovacevich

Dr Ken Moody

Dr Basim Musallam * Dr Rory O'Bryen

Professor Robin Osborne Professor John Perry

Professor Christopher Prendergast

Professor Michael Proctor Dr Mira Seigelberg Dr Sharath Srinivasan Professor Bert Vaux * Dr Rob Wallach

Professor Darin Weinberg * Professor Godela Weiss-Sussex

Dr Thomas White

Professor Nicolette Zeeman

Apologies

Dr Ronojoy Adhikari Dr Sebastian Ahnert

Professor Anna Alexandrova Professor John Arnold

Dr Nicholas Atkins Dr Seda Basihos

Professor Richard Bourke

Dr Mirjana Bozic

Dr Angela Breitenbach

Dr Katherine Campbell **Professor Richard Causton**

Dr Maurice Chiodo

Dr Alexandra Clarà Saracho Professor Francesco Colucci

Dr Sarah Crisp

Professor George Efstathiou

Professor Bradley Epps Professor Aytek Erdil

Dr Timothy Flack Dr Freddy Foks

Professor Robert Foley Professor Matthew Gandy Professor Anthony Giddens Professor Christopher Gilligan

Professor Simon Goldhill Dr David Good

Professor Caroline Goodson

Professor Gillian Griffiths Professor John Henderson Dr Felipe Hernandez Dr Stephen Hugh-Jones Mr Daniel Hyde Professor Herbert Huppert Ms Michaela Kadlecova Professor Barry Keverne Dr Joanna Kusiak Professor Richard Lambert Dr Zhuangnan Li Professor Charlie Loke
Professor Sarah Lummis
Dr Cicely Marshall
Professor Jean Michel Massing
Professor Dan McKenzie
Professor Cam Middleton
Dr Jonah Miller
Dr Rosanna Omitowoju
Professor Paul Ryan
Dr Benjamin Ravenhill
Professor Robert Rowthorn

Professor Jason Sharman Dr Michael Sonenscher Professor Gareth Stedman Jones Dr James Taylor Professor Nicholas Tosca Mr James Trevithick Professor Caroline Van Eck Dr James Vicary Professor John Young

On Leave

Professor Mark Johnson Professor James Laidlaw Dr Surabhi Ranganathan Professor Hamid Sabourian

Open Business Only

Mr Dan Erwig Mr Jakub Gasienica-Ciulacz Ms Timi Olumide-Wahab

OPEN BUSINESS

17. Declarations of Interest

None.

18. Minutes of Open Business of the Ordinary Congregation held on 30th January 2023

Approved.

19. Matters arising from the Minutes

None.

20. Oral Reports

None.

Principal Business

21. Proposal for Admission on to the Design Tripos for entry in 2024

The Senior Tutor presented a paper proposing that the College admit a small number of students to the new Design Tripos for entry in 2024.

The Admissions Tutor and other Fellows spoke in support of the paper, though it was noted that the cohort was small and that care should be taken to avoid the students feeling isolated. It was accepted that this was a legitimate concern, though risks were mitigated by shared teaching activity with Architecture. The President of KCSU also spoke in favour.

Congregation agreed:

- i) To offer admission to the Design Tripos for up to 2 students during the admission round in MT 2023 and reduce the maximum number of offers to Architecture to 3.
- ii) To request the Senior Tutor to look to recruit an additional UTO Fellow to support the subject, and its aligned subjects within a time frame that is commensurate with teaching requirements.
- iii) To increase the overall target size of the first year from 135 to 136.
- iv) To review the scheme after two years.

Routine Papers (for report only)

None.

22. Any Other Business

The Provost noted that revised safety rules meant that it was now possible to hold Congregations in the SCR. Members approved the proposal to return to the SCR for the next Congregation, while maintaining the facility for joining remotely if necessary.