Evensong Live 2016 released on Kings label

Evensong Live 2016

The new album, Evensong Live 2016, features a range of music recorded throughout the year as part of daily Choral Evensong services. The sound was recorded by the Chapel’s state-of-the-art recording system, concealed above the magnificent fan vault ceiling.

Throughout the year, King’s releases recordings of services as online webcasts [link], which are available for a limited time. With Evensong Live 2016, nearly 80 minutes of music is now available to keep. This release serves as a snapshot of the Choir at a specific moment in time, and presents Evensong as a living and breathing part of both the College and national heritage.

You can buy the CD from our online shop , or download it from iTunes

Track list:

  1. At the round earth’s imagined corners - C H H Parry
  2. Magnificat in -G C V Stanford
  3. Valiant-for-Truth -R Vaughan Williams
  4. Jubilate -W Walton
  5. Iehova, quam multi sunt - H Purcell
  6. This is the record of John - O Gibbons
  7. Laudate nomen Domini - C Tye
  8. Drop, drop, slow tears - K Leighton
  9. St John’s Service: Magnificat - M Tippett
  10.  O sacrum convivium - O Messiaen
  11. Gloucester Service: Magnificat - H Howells
  12. Twas in the year that King Uzziah died - G Benjamin
  13. Magnificamus - F Grier
  14. Vertue - J Weir
  15. Collegium Regale Te Deum - H Howells
29 July 2016